Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Kansas Supreme Court

The Kansas Supreme Court is the highest judicial authority in the state of Kansas.  The Supreme Court consists of not less than seven Justices.  All cases shall be heard with not fewer than four Justices sitting.   The concurrence of a majority of the Justices sitting shall not be fewer than four Justices for making a decision.  The term of office of the Justices is six years.  The Justice who is senior in continuous term of service shall be Chief Justice.

Selection process of Justices in the Supreme Court is listed in Article 3, Section 5 of the Kansas Constitution.  The Supreme Court Nominating Commission submits a list of three qualified individuals to the Governor of Kansas.  The Commission votes by secret ballot until three nominees are chosen by majority vote to submit to the Governor.  The Judges are appointed by the Governor of this state.  To be qualified as a Justice, he/she must be between the age of 30 and 70.  One must also be an attorney licensed in Kansas and be active as a lawyer, judge, or teacher of law at an accredited law school for a minimum of ten years.

Pursuant to Article 3, Section 3 of the Kansas Constitution, the Supreme Court has original jurisdiction in proceedings in quo warranto, mandamus, and habeas corpus and appellate jurisdiction as provided by law. The Kansas Supreme Court has mandatory jurisdiction in civil, criminal, administrative agency, disciplinary, certified questions from federal courts and original proceeding cases, and discretionary jurisdiction in civil, criminal, administrative agency, juvenile, original proceeding, and interlocutory decision cases

Kansas Courts Website:

Inside Kansas Supreme Court