Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Arizona Supreme Court

The Arizona Supreme Court is the highest court in the state of Arizona.  The Supreme Court of this state is composed of a Chief Justice, a Vice Chief Justice, and three Associate Justices.  Each Justice is appointed by the Governor of Arizona from a list recommended by a bipartisan commission.  Justices must then be elected two years after their appointment and then every six years. The Chief Justice is chosen for a five year term by the court, and is eligible for re-election.  The Chief Justice supervises the administration of all the inferior courts of Arizona.  The Chief Justice is also the Chairman of the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments, which nominates candidates to fill vacancies in the appellate courts of Arizona. 

The Supreme Court has administrative supervision over all the courts of the State. The Supreme Court also has original jurisdiction over habeas corpus, and quo warranto, mandamus, injunction and other extraordinary writs to State officers.  The Supreme Court has original and exclusive jurisdiction to hear and determine causes between counties concerning disputed boundaries and related surveys or concerning claims of one county against another.  The Court has appellate jurisdiction in all actions and proceedings except civil and criminal actions originating in courts not of record, unless the action involves the validity of a tax, impost, assessment, toll, statute or municipal ordinance.

The Arizona Supreme Court has the power to issue injunctions and writs of mandamus, review, prohibition, habeas corpus, certiorari, and all other writs necessary and proper to the complete exercise of its appellate and revisory jurisdiction. The power to make rules with regard to procedural matters in any court is also vested in the Supreme Court. 

Arizona Supreme Court Website

Inside Arizona Supreme Court