Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Alaska State Legislature

The Alaska legislature is the state legislature of the state of Alaska.  The Alaska legislature is the smallest bicameral state legislature in the United States.  The Legislature is bicameral consisting of two houses, the House of Representatives and the Senate. 

The Senate has 20 members representing 20 senate districts in the state.  The members serve a four year term.  The Senate is presided over by the Senate President.  The House of Representatives has 40 members who serve two year terms. 

The House is presided over by the Speaker of the House.  The legislature meets every year in the State Capitol building in Juneau.  Each legislature consists of two sessions, lasting for a period of 90 days each.

Alaska Legislature Website:

Inside Alaska State Legislature