Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

South Dakota State Legislature

The South Dakota State Legislature is a bicameral legislative body.  The South Dakota State Legislature is composed by the Senate and the House of Representatives.  The Senate has 35 members and the House of Representatives has 70 members.

The Legislature assembles at the South Dakota State Capitol in Pierre.  The annual session of the Legislature begins on the second Tuesday of January each year.  The legislative meeting lasts for 40 working days in odd-numbered years, and 35 working days in even numbered years.

The Executive Board is selected from the legislative members to exercise the administrative matters when the legislature is not in session.  The Legislative Research Council provides administrative support for the legislature.

Members of the Senate and the House of Representatives are elected in November of every even-numbered year.  The tenure of these members is two years.  The 35 legislative districts elect 35 senators and 70 representatives.  The legislative districts are redrawn every ten years, subsequent to the United States Census.

South Dakota State Legislature Website

Inside South Dakota State Legislature