Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Ohio State Legislature

The General Assembly is the highest legislative body of the state of Ohio.  The state of Ohio has a bicameral legislature.  The upper house is the Senate and the lower house is called the House of Representatives.  The General Assembly meets at Ohio Statehouse in Columbus.

The Senate or the upper house consists of 33 members.  During sessions, the President of the Senate presides over the house.  A Senator represents approximately 330,000 citizens of the state.  Each Senate District includes three Ohio House Districts.

The House of Representatives or the lower house of the legislature consists of 99 members.  They are elected from single member districts.  A member of the house is elected for two years and their terms are restricted to four.  Election is conducted every even-numbered year.

Ohio General Assembly Website

Inside Ohio State Legislature