Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

North Dakota State Legislature

The North Dakota Legislative Assembly creates laws for the welfare of the people of the State of North Dakota.  It consists of two houses.  The upper house is called the Senate and the lower house is the House of Representatives.  The whole of North Dakota is divided into 47 constituent districts.  Each district has two representatives and a Senator.

The Senate consists of 47 elected members and the House of Representatives has 94 members.  Senators as well as the Representatives are elected for a period of four years.  Both the houses do not have term limits.  The North Dakota legislature is a biennial legislature and both the houses sit for only 80 days in odd-numbered years.  Therefore a Legislative Council operates to oversee legislative affairs in the interim periods.

North Dakota Legislative Assembly Website

Inside North Dakota State Legislature