Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Mississippi State Legislature

The Mississippi state legislature is comprised of two houses.  The upper house is called the Senate and the lower house is called the House of Representatives.  According to the Mississippi state Constitution, the legislature has to meet for 125 days every fourth year, and for 90 days for all other years.

The Senate comprises of 52 members elected from constituent districts having approximately 54,704 citizens.  The Senators tenure is four years and they do not have term limits.  The Senate has the authority to approve or reject the Governor’s appointments.  The Senators’ election is held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November during the state general elections.  The Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi is the President of the Senate.  However, the President can cast a vote only when there is a tie.

The House of Representatives consists of 122 members.  The members of the house serve for a period of two years.  The candidate to the House of Representatives must be 21 years of age, be a resident of Mississippi for a minimum of two years, and should have resided in the representing district for at least two years.  Elections to the House of Representatives are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.  The House is vested with the power to elect the Governor of Mississippi if no candidate receives more than half of the votes.
Mississippi State Legislature Website

Inside Mississippi State Legislature