Washington Constitution

The current Constitution of the State of Washington was ratified by the state’s voters on October 1, 1889.  It describes the fundamental structure and function of the government of the state.

The Washington Constitution consists of 32 Articles.  Since its inception, the State Constitution has been amended 83 times.  The process of amending the Constitution is explained in Article XXIII, Section 1 of the Constitution.  Section 2 of Article XXIII provides with constitutional conventions.

Full Text of Washington Constitution

Inside Washington Constitution