Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Georgia Constitution

The Constitution of the State of Georgia was ratified on November 2, 1982.  It became effective on July 1, 1983.  The constitution outlines the three branches of government in Georgia such as the legislative branch, the executive branch headed by the Governor and the judicial branch headed by the Supreme Court.  The Constitution outlines the powers that each branch may exercise.  It replaced the previous 1976 constitution, being Georgia’s 10th Constitution.  The Georgia Constitution consists of a Preamble and eleven Articles.

According to Article X, in order to amend the constitution or to begin a constitutional convention , the General Assembly must propose such amendments or discussion of a convention as a resolution in either the Senate or the House of Representatives.

Georgia Constitution Website

Inside Georgia Constitution