Alaska Constitution

The Constitution of the State of Alaska was ratified in 1956.  Alaska attained statehood on January 3, 1959 and the Constitution became effective on the same day.  The Constitution consists of a preamble and 15 Articles.  The basic rights of Alaska’s citizens are established at the beginning of the Alaska Constitution.  As of 2006, there have been 28 amendments to the Alaska Constitution, which is substantially fewer than in most state constitutions.  The Constitution can be amended by a two-third majority vote of both the houses of the Alaska State Legislature.

Full text of the Alaska Constitution:

Inside Alaska Constitution